Consulate General of the Republic of Rwanda in Australia

Attention: As of 1st November 2014 Australian passport holders will be issued a visa upon arrival upon paying the visa fee (US$30), which is valid for 30 days. An invitation letter is no longer needed for Australian citizens.

If you have a passport that was not issued by Australia we recommend you contact the Consulate of Rwanda in the country your passport was issued (listed here) or check for further information on

Attention: As of the 16th of November 2017, a new visa regime for the Republic of Rwanda was established. The Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration would like to inform the public of the following New Visa Regime:

  1. Reciprocity – Rwanda will grant visas free of charge with 90 days validity to the following countries on a reciprocal basis: Benin, Central African Republic, Chad, Ghana, Indonesia, Haiti, Senegal, Seychelles and Sao Tome and Principe. This is in addition to the Democratic Republic Congo, East African Community Partner States, Mauritius, Philippines, and Singapore. This takes immediate effect.
  2. Visa waiver for Diplomatic and Service Passports – The Government of Rwanda has entered into a Visa Waiver Agreement for holders of Diplomatic and Service Passports with; Djibouti, Ethiopia, Gabon, Guinea, India, Israel, Morocco and Turkey. This takes immediate effect.
  3. 30 Days visa upon arrival – Citizens of all countries to get visa upon arrival without prior application, starting the 1st of January 2018. Before that, only nationals of African countries and a few others were getting a visa upon arrival.
  4. COMESA Member States to get 90 days visa upon arrival – Citizens of COMESA member states to get 90 days visa on arrival (on payment of the prescribed fee) as provided by Article 4 of the COMESA Protocol on Free Movement of Persons, Labour, Services, Right of Establishment and Residence. Rwanda ratified the protocol on the 13th of July 2016. Currently, citizens of COMESA member states were getting 30 days on arrival as other holders of African Passports. This takes immediate effect.
  5. Rwandans living abroad with dual nationality allowed to use national IDs on entry – Waive visa fee to Rwandans travelling on foreign passports in possession of a Rwandan Identity Card for countries that permit dual nationality only. Initially, Rwandans travelling on a foreign passport in possession of a valid Rwandan passport were the only ones granted a visa free on arrival. This takes immediate effect.
  6. Foreign residents to use their Resident ID cards for entry – Returning residents holding valid residence permits with corresponding resident cards will be allowed to use them on entry, including using electronic gates (Automated Passenger Clearance System) at Kigali International Airport.


Do I need a Visa to enter Rwanda?

Yes. How you obtain this visa is outlined in the visa policy below.

Current Visa Policy as of 1st November 2014 (Read the policy communiqué here)

  • Nationals of Australia, Germany, Israel, New Zealand, Republic of South Africa, Sweden, United Kingdom, and United States of America, shall get an entry visa and pay visa fee upon arrival at any Rwanda entry point without prior application. The entry visa fee is US$30, valid for a period up to 30 days. Nationals of the mentioned countries may also choose to get a visa online.
  • East African Community Partner States (Burundi, Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda) citizens chall continue to be issued with 6 months visitors passes (renewable) at entry points with no fee.
  • Democratic Republic of Congo citizens will continue getting visitors visas for a stay not exceeding 90 days with no fee as provided by the CEPGL agreement.
  • Nationals of Singapore, Hong Kong, Mauritius and Phillipines are exempted from entry/tourism visa for a stay of up to 90 days.
  • Nationals of African countries not exempted from visa fee shall continue getting entry visa at Rwandan entry points.
  • Nationals of countries not mentioned above shall get a visa upon application before travelling and pay a prescribed fee.


Does the entry visa permit me to work in Rwanda?

The entry visa does not permit you to work in Rwanda. For information about the types of temporary/permanent permits available visit


Please direct all enquiries regarding Visa matters to:

H.E. Guillaume Kavaruganda, High Commissioner of the Republic of Rwanda
High Commission of the Republic of Rwanda Singapore (Jurisdiction over Australia)

8 Temasek Boulevard
#14-03 Suntec Tower 3
Singapore 038988

Tel:  +65 6884 4621
Fax:  +65 6884 4206


Please note the Consulate General of the Republic of Rwanda in Australia does not issue Visas.


What immunisations and vaccinations do I need?

All travellers should visit either their personal doctor or a travel health clinic six to eight weeks before departure.

The following immunisations/vaccinations are not compulsory for travel to all areas of Rwanda if you are coming from a nation that isn’t affected by the listed diseases. However, if you are coming from a country affected by the diseases below, a vaccination is compulsory.

  • Yellow Fever – The certificate is valid for 10 years and must be current. In certain cases a medical waiver can be given by your doctor if there is a valid reason not to be vaccinated.

The following immunisations/vaccinations are recommended for travel to all areas of Rwanda:

  • Diphtheria
  • Hepatitis A
  • Malaria prophylaxis (with Lariam, Malarone, or doxycycline)
  • Polio
  • Tetanus
  • Typhoid

The following immunisations/vaccinations should be considered for travel to all areas of Rwanda:

  • Hepatitis B
  • Rabies

Please consult with your doctor for more specific advice.


Need More Information?

Detailed travel information is available from the Rwandan Department of Immigration or you can contact us.