Yes. How you obtain this visa is outlined in the visa policy below.

Current Visa Policy as of 10th March 2020:

  • Citizens of countries members to the following international organisations; African Union, Commonwealth and La Francophonie – Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Australia, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Belgium, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Cambodia, Comoros, Congo, Cyprus, Dominica, Djibouti, Egypt, Eswatini, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, France, Gabon, Grenada, Greece, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, India, Kiribati, Jamaica, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritania, Maldives, Monaco, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Romania, Saharawi Republic, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Switzerland, Togo, Tunisia, The Bahamas, The Gambia, Tonga, Tuvalu, Trinidad and Tobago, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, United Kingdom, Vietnam, Vanuatu, Zambia, and Zimbabwe – get visa upon arrival and are waived visa fees for a stay of 30 days.
  • Citizens of countries that do not pay entry visa fees while travelling on Ordinary, Service and Diplomatic Passports A citizen of East African Community Member States (Burundi, Kenya, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania and South Sudan) shall be issued a pass/entry visa to stay for the period of six months.
  • Citizens of countries that do not pay entry visa fees while travelling on Ordinary Passports – The following countries to be granted 90 days valid visa free of charge: Angola, Benin, Central African Republic, Chad, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, The Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis, Ghana, Guinea, Indonesia, Haiti, Mauritius, Philippines, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Sao Tome and Principe, Singapore and the State of Qatar.
  • Citizens of countries that do not pay entry visa fees while travelling on diplomatic and service/official passports – The following countries have entered into Visa Waiver Agreement or made unilateral decision to allow holders of Diplomatic and Service/Official Passports to enter without visa requirements – including to pay for visa fees: Angola, Benin, People’s Republic of China (including Public Affairs passport), Cote d’Ivoire, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Ethiopia, The Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Indonesia, India, Israel, Haiti, Mauritius, Mozambique, Morocco, Namibia, Philippines, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates. The visa will be valid for 90 days.
  • 30 days visa upon arrival – Citizens of all countries not mentioned above to continue getting visa upon arrival without prior application and pay a prescribed visa fee.
  • Rwandans living abroad with dual nationality allowed to use national IDs on entry – Rwandans living abroad are waived with the visa fees while travelling on foreign passports in possession of a Rwandan Identity Card.
  • Foreign residents to use their resident ID cards for entry – returning residents holding valid residence permits with corresponding resident cards will continue to be allowed to use them on entry, including using electronic gates (Automated Passenger Clearance System) at Kigali international Airport.


The entry visa does not permit you to work in Rwanda. For information about the types of temporary/permanent permits available visit


H.E. Jean de Dieu Uwihanganye, High Commissioner of the Republic of Rwanda
High Commission of the Republic of Rwanda Singapore (Jurisdiction over Australia)

8 Temasek Boulevard
#14-03 Suntec Tower 3
Singapore 038988

Tel:  +65 6884 4621
Fax:  +65 6884 4206

General email address:

High Commissioner’s office:

Please note the Consulate General of the Republic of Rwanda in Australia does not issue Visas.


All travellers should visit either their personal doctor or a travel health clinic six to eight weeks before departure.

The following immunisations/vaccinations are not compulsory for travel to all areas of Rwanda if you are coming from a nation that isn’t affected by the listed diseases. However, if you are coming from a country affected by the diseases below, a vaccination is compulsory.

  • Yellow Fever – The certificate is valid for 10 years and must be current. In certain cases a medical waiver can be given by your doctor if there is a valid reason not to be vaccinated.

The following immunisations/vaccinations are recommended for travel to all areas of Rwanda:

  • Diphtheria
  • Hepatitis A
  • Malaria prophylaxis (with Lariam, Malarone, or doxycycline)
  • Polio
  • Tetanus
  • Typhoid

The following immunisations/vaccinations should be considered for travel to all areas of Rwanda:

  • Hepatitis B
  • Rabies

Please consult with your doctor for more specific advice.


Detailed travel information is available from the Rwandan Department of Immigration or you can contact us.

Please also visit Australia’s Department of Foreign Affairs (DFAT) and their page on Rwanda –